top of page
  • Aren Lodge

DR. LASHONDA M. JACKSON-DEAN ON SERIAL ENTREPRENEURSHIP FROM TV TO PODCASTING TO BEING AN AUTHOR

Let's begin with who you are and what you do?

I am Dr. LaShonda M. Jackson-Dean, the proud owner of her own TV Network (JDI Multi-Media Network) and producer of her own TV Show (Just So You Know Moment with A #Twist TV Talk Show) and Podcast (Just So You Know Moment with Dr. LaShonda Jackson-Dean). An American Best-Selling Author of a variety of genres to include African American Studies, Women, Management, Militaristic, Motivational, Wellness, and Fitness Studies, Fiction as well as Non-fiction literature. She is a Motivational Speaker, Life and Success Strategist. Dr. Jackson-Dean, an adjunct professor, and entrepreneur gives voice to the voiceless through her writings and speaking. She is the author of A Phenomenological Study of the Underrepresentation of Senior Level African American Women in Corporations, Seed to Seeds Systemic Oppression and PTSD, Level Up! Through Mindfulness, Level Up! Through Mindfulness Life-Book Part II, and A Tea Party and a Prayer (Children’s Book), sixth, and seventh books in the works entitled The Adventures of Tike and Tunka (Children’s Book) and The Invisible (5-Part Series). Dr. Jackson-Dean has Co-Authored three published collaborations (Gumbo for The Soul, Love Letters to My Girls, and Women Win Against the Odds) and is currently the primary Author in an Anthology entitled The Pivot being released in the Fall of 2020. She publishes through her own Publishing Company, Jackson-Dean Investments Publishing.

How did you get started?

Even as a child of 5 or 6 years old, I have always had an entrepreneurial spirit! I always wanted to have my own thing, do my own thing, create my own thing but not in a selfish way. Everything I wanted to do; I always found a way to include others. In whatever I was doing by the time we got into doing it, I had made it all about others and not myself. To this date, I am still at it! Making opportunities for other people to be successful. I believe in doing for others without the fear of sharing the spotlight. I do not come from a financially wealthy family. I come from a creatively rich and generous family. My parents both worked full time jobs and owned their own businesses on the side.

What was the catalyst that made you take the plunge into this industry?

Oprah. Oprah Winfrey was my inspiration for getting into media. I have watched Ms. Winfrey on TV every since I was a young girl. I would love to see her come out on the stage and greet her audience. I was fascinated with her interviewing skills and how she held the attention of the nation. Who wasn’t watching The Oprah Show? No on because everyone loved Oprah. I watched her and I said one day, I will be on TV and I will have my own show.

What was the situation that encouraged you to give this a real shot?

(laughs) Once again, a need to help others. I would be on Facebook and see so much competition for this and that. I witnessed people suffering from low self-esteem and even depression because they believed they were not good enough or as good as others on social media. So, I started a 2-3 min video called Just So You Know Moment. In this video, I would encourage others to not seek the approval of others. I would encourage them to work on their gifts and purpose. I would provide #JustSoYouKnow Tips and motivation. I would always begin with “This Just So You Know Moment Is brought to You by Dr. LaShonda Jackson-Dean and Jackson-Dean Investments. #JustSoYouKnow… From what I was told, several people loved it! I was dubbed the “Doctor in the Cow Boy Hat!” Because, the bulk of the videos showed me in the Cow Boy Hat. My popularity grew, and grew. I was then asked to do longer videos and to talk about different subjects. I obliged. The Just So You Know Moment grew into the Just So You Know Moment with a #Twist Podcast. I would always do a #Twist motion with my hands whenever I said Twist. I was phenomenal!! I was meeting people everywhere doing the Twist Motion with their hands when they saw me. I had people tuning in to my show all around the world. I loved it, The Just So You Know Moment with a #Twist Podcast grew in to the Just So You Know Moment with a #Twist TV Talk Show!! So, now I am on Tv and not only that I have two shows on TV and my own NETWORK!! I give stuff away...like “You get something, you get something, and you get something!! Just like Oprah!!! My reference has been upgraded to “The TV Talk Show Queen”! Sometimes, I catch myself thinking….I bet this is how Oprah feels,…but, of course on a 100,000x’s level. LOL! Not an issue for me because, I respect my humble beginnings because I always knew I would make it here and guess what…I’m not finished yet!!

Tell us the story of your first legit client (that is a stranger, someone you don’t know).

My first legit customer on my TV Talk Show was an African American Business woman. She was very poise and gracious. We had a great experience learning about each other on my first episode. Now, one of the best episodes so far was with a young white Business Man. This was our first-time meeting and we hit it off instantly!! We laughed and cut up so bad (in a good way) on the show that whenever we speak to each other now, we start off laughing. You have to watch the show, of course, not all of the shenanigans are shown but anyone can see we are having a great time!

How did you find them, and what do you attribute as the reason why they chose to work with you?

Honestly, I have been blessed with my clients finding me. Of course, I am all over the internet, social media and I have a website. I attend a lot of events prior to COVID-19. But all in all, they seek me. I am so heavenly thankful for this. I take nothing for granted because I know, it’s not me. It’s God. I am always in prayer, thanking him for grace, mercy, blessings, protection, and for dying for my sins. Other than that, I am a very generous and accommodating person. I always give my all in everything I do. I may not look like the nicest person to everyone but, I have to admit, I am pretty nice. Not a push-over but, a very nice person.

Tell us the first 5 steps you took to make this dream career your reality.

My first step was 1. Pray 2. Write It Down. 3. Read it every day and map out what it would take to be successful at it. 4. Prayed some more. 5. Stepped out on faith and did it.

Now that we have the 5 steps, is there anything you would say was a hurdle to you getting started that someone in your field may want to avoid?

Initially, I allowed naysayer to take my focus off what I was doing. It was a little confusing to me to see people unhappy that I was living out one of my dreams. It was confusing to me because, I am always supporting others, high-fiving, fist-bumping, congratulating, cheering and even donating in support of the success of others. I was confused when the same people I held up and walked across the finish line wouldn’t even give me a free social media “like”. I shook the confusion pretty fast and continued accomplishing my goals. I made up in my mind that I would be successful with or without whoever. I would love to have them come with me but I won’t allow them to stop me.

What sets you a part from others as an author?

My literary work is broad. I can write in several genres. I don’t limit myself to just one, unless, it is a series. Many authors write themselves into a box. I have always been an out of the box thinker. I enjoy being able to speak on more than one topic.

For future customers, how can we connect with you?

To book Dr. LaShonda M. Jackson-Dean for your next speaking event please contact her publicist at Publicist.DrLJacksonDean@gmail.com. To purchase any of her books, materials, and products visit her website.

DON'T MISS THE FUN.

Thanks for submitting!

FOLLOW ME ELSEWHERE

  • Facebook
  • Instagram

SHOP MY LOOK

No tags yet.

POST ARCHIVE

bottom of page